SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Yet another noob wanting advice on 1st scope!

Hi Stargazers,

I realise you guys have probably answered a million of these questions by now but I'm a total noob and don't want to waste money on something that turns out to be a load of rubbish! Haha 

My budget is around £200 which I realise won't get anything super amazing but I've been looking around and wondered if you'd give an opinion on the following https://www.bresseruk.com/bresser-messier-ar-90-900-nano-az-telescope.html

I would love to be able to view the moon in good detail and ideally see Saturn and Jupiter etc. I could upgrade eyepieces as and when funds allow but does this sound any good at all as a starter scope? Or do you have any other recommendations for around the 200 mark? 

Thanks in advance :)

Oh no again that question?   HaHa im also a noob so cant answer.  But id buy second hand if i were you.  And start with 5” newton probably.  But i cant really give advice yet because i try to skip that first part

Edited by Robindonne

Hi and welcome to the forum

The Bresser is a decent beginners scope but you might consider a dobsonian telescope. No other type of telescope will show you as much for the money and is so easy for the beginner to use. Pretty well all your money is going on the telescope as the dobsonian mount is so simple.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dobsonians/skywatcher-skyliner-150p-dobsonian.htmlb

Edited by johninderby

21 minutes ago, Robindonne said:

Oh no again that question?   HaHa im also a noob so cant answer.  But id buy second hand if i were you.  And start with 5” newton probably.  But i cant really give advice yet because i try to skip that first 

I know, I can feel the eye rolls from here! Haha I never thought about secondhand! Will have a scout about :) thanks for replying!