NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Better gear, not so better results!

Rustang

So for a while now Ive been seeing possible upgrade items for sale with example pictures that the seller has taken with the gear and near enough every time Ive not been impressed with the images taken. I'm in no way shape or form blowing my own trumpet as I'm still very new to astrophotography but Ive felt each time that my images are better with the gear i have. This lead me to the question of "is better really any better"? or is it more down to the user? I like to try and get the best out of my gear before changing and yes you have to work that gear harder but I feel I have archived more that way with what is said to be good, but lower end equipment!

Thoughts?

Edited by Rustang

Sometimes imaging factors are unknown for example sky bortle. If you are pushing your gear to maximise what you get from it you may also be putting in the time to push your learning in post processing. Both will reflect in your images.

• Like 1

I think you are in the happy position of being practiced enough to be getting the best out of the equipment that you have.  It is also very much down to the user, if all you needed to be a top imager was to buy the most expensive setup, then anyone could do it.  The same applies to visual, some can see detail that seems invisible to others in the same telescope.  🙂   

• Like 2

23 minutes ago, happy-kat said:

Sometimes imaging factors are unknown for example sky bortle. If you are pushing your gear to maximise what you get from it you may also be putting in the time to push your learning in post processing. Both will reflect in your images.