Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celestron powerseeker 114eq help!

Hello guys. Wondering if anybody can help. I’ve got the above telescope. However as I’m a beginner I’m unsure on the controls and cannot get my head around the instructions! Just a few questions...

how do I use the slow motion controls properly? 
how do I move the telescope around without loosening all fastenings? 
shall I put on the motor? 
whice eyepiece is best to use to view the moon? Also shall I use one with the Barlow lens? 

thanks in advance. Any help greatly appreciated 

1 hour ago, Jennifere20 said:

Hello guys. Wondering if anybody can help. I’ve got the above telescope. However as I’m a beginner I’m unsure on the controls and cannot get my head around the instructions! Just a few questions...

how do I use the slow motion controls properly? 
how do I move the telescope around without loosening all fastenings? 
shall I put on the motor? 
whice eyepiece is best to use to view the moon? Also shall I use one with the Barlow lens? 

thanks in advance. Any help greatly appreciated 

Hello and welcome to SGL. Here's a useful link to show you how the mount is used to point around at different points is the sky http://www.astronomyboy.com/eq/ . The slow motion control on the side of the mount is used to keep an object in the centre of the eyepiece, this is the same as using the RA motor. The other slo-mo control should only be used to make fine adjustments. This one has a limited amount of movement so you should release the locking handle and move the telescope manually as shown in the link and then retighten it and make adjustments using the slo-mo cable.