Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Intervalometer

Glad i found a place to ask question.  I recently watched a clip from nico carver and he gave some advice about using a dslr.  Im quite new to all thats related to astronomy.  But while using a nikon dslr without the ability to be controlled by asiair, im searching for an almost perfect dslr.  The best option is probably a full frame but in the price range around € 400/500 i wont find one with a flip-screen. So cropped sensor is my only option.  But the nico carver clip mentioned an intervelometer build in a camera.  So I understand that when the dslr is attached to just a scope without my asiair im still able to shoot multiple frames without paying attention to the camera?  Im asking for advice and maybe experience in canon dslr with a rotatable screen ánd intervelometer.   I just cant find a list with possible models of the eos.  Right know im thinking of buying an used 60d.  They go for 200€ in good shape.   If someone can advice another model im very curious.  Oh and the 60d should be sealed and weatherproof so the suggested one must have that also

Edited by Robindonne

Not the Canon but I have a Fuji X_T1 and that has a built in intervalometer but it only goes up to 30 second exposures. May be other cameras have longer exposures possible.

This was OK when I used to do Alt-Az imaging, but since acquiring an EQ mount I want to take longer subs. I've just got one of these. It sits in the flash mount and a short cable goes to the camera remote release socket. It is controlled by a remote handset which communicates via wi-fi with the shutter release. So if all else fails, you could go down this route. They can be bought for use with different cameras, just the interconnecting lead is changed.

61nWA7ikZbL._AC_SL1000.jpg.391e28aaad69909c848bca1617033b4e.jpg

Ian

Edited by The Admiral
  • Thanks 1