SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

New obs PC - what software?

Helen

So my new shiney (well matt black actually) PC has arrived and I'm setting it all up.

I thought it might be a good time to assess my imaging software tools.

I've been running Maxim v5 for nearly 10 years.  I use it for capture, guiding, plate solving for deep sky.  It does what I need it to do, but I had some compatibility/driver issues (eg my atiks stopped being recognised) before the last PC died (not sure if related!).

I run the Mesu mount through sitech drivers.

I have used focusmax free version - with some mixed success.

I use Cartes du Ceil as planetarium software.

Stacking in DSS, post processing in photoshop cs2.  (I must admit mostly over the past few years I've been a snapshot person - say an hour or so data per target and basic processing)

For planetary and lunar I use sharcap, As3!.

I'm wondering about upgrading Maxim - but it's a lot of money!!

What are my options?

Any neat software to make life easier/more reliable?

Thanks

Helen

I run Suequence Generator Pro, and love it.  It makes life very easy and encompasses many things in to one package.

CDC I use and rate it highly.

DSS I sometimes use but less so now as I mostly now use Pixinsight as for me it seems to do a better job.

Sharpcap I use and rate it for planetary but use Registax more than AS3! although I do sometimes use that if Registax is having a moment.

I think those that use Maxim rate it highly, and there are the Linux options of Kstars/Ekos etc. but I find that all a little bitty and haven't really got on with it when I've tried it.

I think much of it is how the software fits your eye and your expectations as, in general, they all work.  For me SGP looks good, runs well and does an awful lot for the money.

Enjoy your new compluter and hopefully the clean slate will mean trouble free imaging whichever route you go.