Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Rosette in HOO using Starnet

don4l

I've been playing with Starnet, and I am very impressed with it.  Unlike many processing methods/tricks/tips, this seems to work on every image that I have tried.

My problem is that I'm not very good at processing the RGB stars as a separate image.  Sometimes they come out brilliantly, and other times I just don't get much colour in them at all.  I'd really like to get some pointers about producing the stars in the first place (I'm making an RGB in CCDStack and just stretching the levels).  I could also do with some advice about recombining them with the starless image in PS or Gimp.  Currently, I'm adding them back in in either "lighten" or "screen" mode, or a mixture of both.

This image is 50m Ha, 70m OIII and 16m RGB (5,5,6).

Tak FSQ106 at F5,  G3 16200, Chroma Ha and OIII 3nm filters, EQ6

CCDCiel, Indi, CCDStack and Gimp.

Any other comments or suggestions very welcome.

Rose.jpg

CdC.jpg

• Like 20

2 hours ago, Sunshine said:

Yes, i would suggest not displaying what could only be a Hubble image as your own. 

Simply beautiful! it really is Hubblesque.

Thank you very much.  

I have the feeling that it is my best image so far, but I am useless at looking at my own images.

On 04/12/2019 at 14:36, Star101 said:

Having double clicked both images to zoom in on the noise. I think that the second image is better. 

On a normal scale, on my laptop. Both images look the same. Very nice work.

Thanks for sharing.

Dave.

On 04/12/2019 at 13:49, simmo39 said:

Brilliant!  but think the first rendition is better.

Thank you both!

Clearly, I should stop looking so closely.  If the difference is open to opinion, then I am clearly worrying far too much.

Edited by don4l
  • Like 1

1 hour ago, alan potts said:

Makes one want a 106mm Tak, doesn't it, great image and really jumps out the screen on my setup in the basement.

Alan

Thanks Alan.