Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Pier height recommendations

CedricTheBrave

I am looking at building a pier in the garden on an old parasol mounting that's concreted into the ground.

Its pretty solid and goes down about 2 feet and 

question is that i have been given some steel tube for the pier but its only 500mm long (6.5" dia) so when the adaptor plate and base is all fixed together it will be about 575mm high to mount the HEQ5pro onto! the OTA is a 200pds. Will this be high enough? or do i need to go higher?

20190101_115942.jpg

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Is it for visual or imaging?  if imaging, as long as everything clears the ground\mount, then it should be ok.

Looking at the location, visual may be a little more trick due to the varying heights around it, and where the eyepiece ends up....

I am pretty new to this so take my thoughts with a pinch of salt. However, I am also looking into building a fixed pier so am also interested.

I would think a lot has to do with what you intend to do with the scope and what size of scope. If you intend to use for observing then the eyepiece of the scope needs to be at a comfortable height and you need good all round access to be able to view from various angles. But if only intended for imaging with a camera as the ep then the height just needs to be such that it keeps your scope and equipment clear of any surrounding obstacles.

Extra height also may help to a clearer view above house roof, fences or hedges etc but not essential.

Steve

EDIT: Basically same reply as Julian above but he obviously was more concise and thus it appeared whilst I was replying ?