Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie looking for grab and go!

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie so please be kind! Actually my main passion is for (flower) photography (shameless plug : Instagram mjdearman_photography) , but I have been a little bitten by the astro bug!

Started out with a trip to the dark sight in Northumberland UK, it was cloudy but even so the lecture sparked an interest, so I bought a Celestron 110 Newt from Ebay for £50. I was really chuffed to observe the moon, Mizor / Alcor and jupiter, but ultimately the poor quality finder scope and mount meant I wasn't using it enough. I take a lot of enjoyment from learning the sky and all I was really getting was frustration.

I am pretty limited on time, so quick setup is key. With this in mind, I bought some celestron 20x80 Bins which i love. Last night I found the Dumbbell nebula (or a very faint smudge), have also observed M13 , the moon, Jupiter and Saturn. I love this "organic" way of observing, but need a bit more.

I definitely want an unguided Alt AZ mount, have learnt my lesson there. Started looking at possible small Fracs like the Altair Lightwave 72mm F6 ED-R Refractor  and the 70 ED Travel Frac, but the more reading I did the more it seems I would benefit from more Aperture (I would like observing to include a bit of everything including DSOs). Portability was initially a priority but im happy to sacrifice for more aperture.

I am ruling out dobs due to the size / storage  / setup space and setup time required. I wouldn't necessarily rule out a newt but its not my pref and not many people seem to use these on Alt AZ mounts. I want an organic observing experience even if it is with a bigger scope.

So, as I want a bit more aperture I am thinking about spending a bit more and going with the Skywatcher 120-ED. There is so much written on this scope and seems the only negative really is the focuser and that its not the best for DSOs (as expected with the smallish Aperture).