SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Erupting solar prominence animation

tooth_dr

I pointed my solar telescope at a small prominence in the hope that it would do something whilst I imaged it.  Because I am new to solar imaging I don't know whether this is particularly lucky, or if it's something that's easily caught.  Over the space of about an hour I captured 18 videos, each of 1000 frames, using a mono DMK21.  I stacked 10% of the frames, and then manually went about aligning and cropping the 18 stacked images because ImPPG didn't like to do it for me.  I also took an image of the solar surface, just to get rid of the white in the image, and add something visually interesting to the solar disc.  I used a curves adjustment to make it orange, and then made a movie in MS Movie Maker.

Hope you enjoy it!

41 minutes ago, Davey-T said:

Well done, particularly with not a lot going on ATM.

Dave

Thanks Dave, I'm actually warming to this solar imaging carry on.

4 minutes ago, MarsG76 said:

Awesome work.. love it.

Thanks MG :D

Just now, tooth_dr said:

Thanks MG :D

I have the Coronado SolarMax II scope which I haven't used in way too long. I am planning to do a timelapse of the sun in HAlpha one day too...

3 minutes ago, tooth_dr said:

There have been some awesome prom lift offs over the years, leaping millions of kilometres into space.

If you root back a couple of years in this forum, when the Sun was more active, you should find some examples.

Dave

3 minutes ago, MarsG76 said:

I have the Coronado SolarMax II scope which I haven't used in way too long. I am planning to do a timelapse of the sun in HAlpha one day too...