Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help on first setup please

Hi everyone - first time post.

I am brand new to this but have been looking into all the information and gear for a good while. In the next 6 months will be looking at getting my gear together to start my adventure.

I am looking at Deep Space Photography mainly (Blows my Mind!)

My background in photography is Motorsport and Aircraft (Military) which I love. I have a Canon 7D which I am looking to use and will look to move up to a CCD at some point in the future. I am pretty okay with Post Processing and have watched many videos on getting tips on what to capture and how to process the images to get good results.

The main question is what scope and mount to go for?

I am looking at spending around £1500-£1800 (GBP). Would push the boat out a little if it was worth it for a better setup!

I keep going between different scopes and getting a bit overcome with information about which is better for Deep Space Photography. Think it sometimes comes down to a lot of them have a few pros and cons but will do the job well.

Have been looking at the Orion Atlas 10 EQ-G GoTo Reflector Orion Atlas 10" 

Have read that Refractors can be better options for Deep Space Photography but others saying Reflectors are the way to go (Better speed etc.) Will also go with guiding with simple guide scope and CCD.

• Would love to know others opinions on this. Other combinations of scopes etc.
  • Should I be going smaller, am I taking on too much for a beginner in Astrophotography?

Many thanks for any help on this!

Z3roCool

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome

As you've got a window for reading before choosing it would be read the book 'making every photon count' before spending any serious money so you can buy wisely and understand why choosing what you choose.