NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Ideal (CCD/CMOS) camera for faint & small objects?

GTom

I am looking for the ideal camera for faint and small objects, like early-stage comets and galaxies. This type of job doesn't require huge FOV, however sensitivity and low noise is essential.

Which one would you recommend?

Atik 414ex

ASI174mm-cool

Something else? Of course, larger FOV is also welcome, if it doesn't come with decreased sensitivity and a hefty price tag.

Hello,

I'm just starting out with DSO imaging so my experience is limited. But that said, I'm using an Atik 414ex on an Edge HD11 to image planetary nebula and find it very good. Read noise is just under 4e for my camera. The noise looks fairly uniform and not much amp glow, esp when cool. Certainly seems to be easy to calibrate out. (not at home so I can't post images, let me know if you want to see some).

A 20 min sub of NGC7662 through a O3 filter will capture the faint outer halo quite well. The ASCOM driver works with Sequence Generator Pro, I haven't tried other software and not really used Atik's own capture software. Build quality is ok, although the USB connector could be a little more robust and the fan is noisy (constant white noise sound, no high pitch squeals) if you stand close to it, but soon disappears as you move away.

It happily cools to -10 deg C, could probably go further but the dark current is pretty low so I've not bothered to go lower.

I haven't used the other camera you mention so I can't offer any opinion on it other than I've found ZWO to be easy to do business with (I own the ASI120M and 178MM).

Cheers, Ian.