Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I was wondering with all of the discussion on climate change

is it possible that with all of the solar activity, cosmic ray's, gamma rays, x rays and etc that these have a greater effect on our climate than man?

I am not a scientist but it seems plausible.. I never see any astronomers on the t.v discussing this so I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this.

thanks for the replies so far, I am amazed that there is such little discussion about this on the debate stage on this issue.

It is obvious that man contributes, but the natural discussion of climate change especially when it comes to space is never discussed.

But with exploding stars, black holes emitting and all of these xrays and gamma rays going everywhere  it seems that it should be included in the discussion

23 minutes ago, Alien 13 said:

Natural events can certainly out do anything man has done, a large volcano could probably dump more CO2 in a few days then we have in the last 100 years.

Alan

do you know if there is any data on this?

Solar scientist Piers Corbyn argues for the sun's natural instabilities outweighing man made effects. He's controversial and fairly opinionated but whether or not he's right I have no idea!

I simply take the view that if we might be responsible for substatntial climate change it would be a sensible idea to act on the basis that we are. I probably won't blow my brains out if I play Russian Roulette once but I still won't be playing it.

Olly

2 hours ago, drb1976 said:

... I am amazed that there is such little discussion about this on the debate stage on this issue....

From time to time we get this subject coming up in the Lounge or in this section.