Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Looking for my first telescope

Hi everyone,

I recently went on a camping trip a few hours from where I live in the French Alps (no light pollution, it's great) and was lucky enough to be pitched up next to a large group of astronomers. I've always had an interest in astronomy but after seeing the rings of Saturn through a telescope my wife and I want to get our own.

I've spent the last few days researching telescopes (I've been like a kid in a sweet shop) and I'm still unsure what to buy, our budget is around the £200 mark and these are a couple that I've been looking at

1. Celestron Powerseeker 127EQ Reflector Telescope £181

2. Celestron 130EQ Astromaster Reflector Telescope £120

3. Skywatcher Explorer-130M 130mm (5.1") f/900 Motorised Newtonian Reflector Telescope £179

4. Orion SkyQuest XT4.5 Classic Dobsonian Telescope £212

Now as a complete beginner I'm after advice as to what to get, I want to see the usual Saturn, Mars, Moon etc but would also like to do some deep sky observing.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks 

Andy

Loungers far more experienced than I will be on soon, I'm sure, but the general advice is that with the Dob you will get more 'bang for your buck'. 

Welcome to SGL. Have fun with your new hobby.

On your budget I would go for number three because of the aperture and the ability to track which I like(I can feel the wrath of the dob mob venting their spleens)but a big consensus is the sw200p on a dob base.It is slightly more £279? But as Floater says biggest bang for your buck and unless you get aperture fever it will be the only scope you will need.

6 minutes ago, Candyman said:

Follow up question, with the 150p is it great as it comes or are there any upgrades you'd recommend?