Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What would I need?

Hello everybody!

I have some questions about upgrading some things on a telescope. I'm a newbie on astronomy and equipment.

Last week a decided to buy a telescope to see the stars and planets a little closer so I rushed into it without doing any research and bought a small scope (Sky-Watcher Skyhawk-114 Catadioptric Newtonian Reflector Telescope). When I got the scope I looked online at what you can and can't do with it. With the EPs that came with it I couldn't really see any details and the image of Jupiter, Mars and Saturn were quite blurry so I ordered myself a 12mm Meade 5000 HD-60, a SW 2x Deluxe Barlow Lens and a light pollution filter. With the new things that I got the image was so much better but I still felt it wasn't enough.

The EQ mount has a little fault, the cog wheel under the RA scale is very stiff even when the RA knob is unlocked and when I spin the RA handle you could see little bits of metal falling from the cog wheel.

This fault made me a bit happy to be honest because I had a reason to return it, get a full refund and go for something bigger.

Today I spoke to the guys I bought it from and they will take it back from me.

The new scope that I'll get on Monday is SkyWatcher Explorer 200P EQ5.

I think I made the right decision, the possibilities of the SW 200P being so much greater than of the SW 114.

My question is about EPs and filters

What EPs and filters would I need to see the planets and DSO in greater detail? Will I be able to have a clear view of the planets if I got full power on it? Can I get a 2.5mm EP and use the 2x barlow?

What low power EP and what Filters would I need to have for a good view of nebulaes, galaxies and and other DSO? Should I go for a 32mm, 40mm??

I don't know anything about filters. I will get a set of 4 Sky-Watcher Lunar/Planetary Filters with the new scope.