Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hey Guys,
I'm not a newbie to astronomy (or reading on SGL :icon_biggrin:), but am a Newbie to AP (and writing on SGL :happy8:).
I have a Sky watcher 8 inch dob, and had SW 120 and 102 achromatic in the past. I have a pretty solid Visual background (messier, top 111 NGC and so on), and did some decent job on photographing Sun, Moon and planets with the dob. Now I want to do more serious things in AP field.
I have to mention I live in Iran. AP gear can be found here, but it is usually twice or even thrice the price of online markets. For example a SW ProED 80ED has an online price tag of $650 while here is being sold $1300 :BangHead: (Online markets does not deliver in Iran). Fortunately lenses are far better priced and found here, a little higher than their real price. While searching online for a rig, i encountered another alternative, using a telephoto lens instead of a refractor, and found a particular one, AF-S NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED VR (http://www.nikonusa.com/en/nikon-products/product/camera-lenses/af-s-nikkor-200-500mm-f%2f5.6e-ed-vr.html).

I have read a couple of reviews (mostly daytime reviews) for this glass, all saying that it can't beat prime supertele lenses but is far better than similar junk-brand lenses (Tamron and Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3). It has a little CA which can be removed in post. 
It is a buy once and buy good scenario for me, the optic I buy is going to be mine indefinitely because there is no AP gear buyers here. (Having a hard time selling my dob, let alone AP gears.)

Now with the given situation, my question is: Can I buy a telephoto lens for large deep sky objects, instead of an apo telescope, without sacrificing quality?
( I will buy a longer FL telescope (say a RC or SCT) in future, but now i have to start with shorter Focal Lengths. )

Lens ads for me:
- Can do wildlife in daytime (another fav genre, but AP has priority)