Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help please - recommendations for 5 year old

Hi, I'm very new to all of this I hope someone can help.

my son is just about to turn 5 and has started showing an interest in space. We were thinking about getting him a telescope or binoculars for his birthday, we would also like to use them so would like something half decent, we have a budget of around £150 (I know not massive but didn't want to spend a huge amount in case he gets fed up like kids do) wouldn't mind something a little over budget if we're able to find it second hand.

can anyone recommend anything? If binoculars they would need to be lightweight or be able to mount to a tripod. 

Thanks in advance :)

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I will take a look at that thank you @Physopto ! he won't be left on his own with it while he's so young as he will need help I'm guessing and it won't be treated as a toy he is quite sensible. is this good enough for us to use too as we are also interested in seeing what's out there! 

It is very basic, but I was thinking about little fingers and their evil ways. :p

If you want better it can cost. Depends upon exactly what you want.  A cradle DOB is the obvious choice for views but not easy for a small child to use. They will need elevating to a suitable position and constant supervision, lest they fall off the chair or ladders. You need to think a bit about what you want to do.

Derek

This might also be worth considering - very simple but perhaps a good starter at 5-years old? Suggest helped by Google Sky app on Mum & Dad's smartphone for guidance, so you know what you're looking at and can help him.  

http://www.tringastro.co.uk/sky-watcher-infinity-76p-childrens-telescope-3174-p.asp?gclid=CjwKEAjw9Zu5BRCS_OuVibujhQ0SJAD7t4KrN63WUgOMNvZZrMbddkHW5xBNOPTs7efgJZb4d6ZXGBoCbvXw_wcB