NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Bubble level

bottletopburly

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Nice.  And a great price.  I'm using a traditional foot long level with 3 level tubesin it at present.

I think you could help me here as I'm fairly new to all this.

If I used a round bubble level approach as you have, should I buy 3 and put one adjacent to each leg to get my mount level?

Thanks in advance for any help here.  :-)

nah tony, the round bubble acts as a level for all the legs, 

once its in the middle your platform(whatever that may be) will be level

you just need a flat surface to put it on, adjust the 3 legs until the bubble is in the centre = dead level on all axis

You know that EQ mounts don't need to be level? It is widely believed that they do but they don't. An approximation of level can be helpful in terms of repeatability and reduced interaction between axes during drift alignment but on SW mounts you level so as to set your polar scope reticle to vertical. Now think about this. How accurate is your polarscope anyway? Is it worth finessing the tripod legs for ten minutes in view of this accuracy? I'm going to say not. Nor do I think the spreader plate is likely to be precisely parallel with the mount top.

Takahashi got it right. You can't even adjust their tripod legs to level the mount but their fast PA routine is the best there is. Mount levelling is worth no more than a minute in my view. Spend the time elsewhere.

Olly

• 2 weeks later...