Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

My first 'real' Deep Sky.... so happy!

Stratis

I've been waiting a very long time to make this post.

My journey into astrophotography started nearly two years ago when I realised that just seeing beautiful objects in the eyepiece wasn't going to cut it.... I needed to show other people these wondrous things, and I couldnt keep waking my girlfriend up at four in the morning :D

Being a total newbie (typical story, owned a Tasco refractor for about five minutes when I was too young to even point the thing) I burned through a half dozen unsuitable scopes on the way to my current imaging rig, a 102ED doublet APO. Even then, my first attempts failed dismally due to a total inability to polar align (house in the way) and no guiding setup. My first attempt was a pretty terrible M42, unguided, I could barely manage 30 second exposures on the HEQ-5, so poor was the alignment... I got something alright out of it with processing, but nowhere near the posters here. I resolved to improve.

Then...I got a new job, all my time was eaten up for a whole year, but finally I am ready to start again. I've waited night after night, checking and rechecking my equipment, and tonight was a whole 10 hours of clear (hazy, moonlit but I'll take it!) sky... I chose the first deep sky object I ever saw, back with my AstroMaster 114 Hall-Newtonian (yes, yes I know, horrible) but it caught my breath even through such a mediocre scope....

Tonight I was back, with Canon 6D and SX Lodestar guiding, although STILL not properly polar-aligned so relying 100% on guiding to correct polar drift... amazingly this setup works very well despite being relatively cheap and low-tech.

It's a lot of preamble for not a lot of result, but I couldn't be happier :)

May I present, with a bare minimum of stretching, no darks, no flats and no bias..... M13.

m13.png

I'm happy with it :D

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Good stuff, but you do need flats!