NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

hi from north east

saker

hi folks from snow'y sunderland ! was looking around and decided to sign up i have receved a celestrone 102 SLT for xmas and am looking forward to viewing,

i have two lens with the scope one say 25 and th eother says 9 on the side as im a total newbie to this game can any one please tell me about the scope and do i need any other bits and pieces to make it work better ?

i ask as i have been on many telescope sites and there is thousands of add on's you can get,

also whats the viewing range of my scop i.e whats the best i am gonna view with it ?

thanks glen..........

Glen, Hi and welcome. I'm afraid I can't be a lot of help, I'm a newbie myself and haven't had much of an opportunity to use the scope that I got for Christmas either. I'm sure that there'll be someone along soon who can give you some ideas.

Hi, welcome to SGL. Your eyepieces will give magnifications of x26 and x72. Your aperture (width of the lens at the front of the scope) is about 100 mil so working on the fact that your maximum effective magnification is around twice the width of the lens then the max mag you should be aiming for on your scope is around x200. To work out what magnification your eyepieces give you, first of all find the focal length of your scope, which in your case is 660 mil, and divide the 'number' on the side of the eyepiece into 660. So if you had an eyepiece with '5' on the side, which is what we would call a 5 mil eyepiece then it would magnify about 132 times. Hope this helps!

Hi Glen and Welcome to SGL

Get use to the eyepieces you have currently before you buy others. Starting with the 25mm lense to help get you used to your scope.

Other things you might find useful to pick up is a copy of `Turn left at orion`(Amazon) and a Planisphere.(Amazon or Waterstones) Also download Stellarium. You can download it free at www.stellarium.org. Its a great little program.