Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie from Whitstabubble

alfingido

Hi all, I am a newbie to the forum, but not astronomy. I started many years ago when my parents bought me a Tasco scope ( were talking late `60`s here, I dont remember the size) which my Brother ( bless him) promptly took to pieces. I put it back together and sat gazing at the moon with it whenever I could.

A long time passed and I bought a 6" Simmons Newtonian. Pretty useless really, but the bug had struck again and I spent years looking at fuzzy objects all over the sky, then I splashed out and bought a Meade ETX125.

It blew me away! That Simmons scope was, I realise now, pretty awful! Again, a few years passed while i tried to wear the ETX out, till it broke and the nice man at the shop said he would part ex it for something else. Thats when i got my current scope, a Meade LX90 with a box full of eyepieces and a ccd imager.

I`ve steadily added to it, now have a camera mount, filter sets, more eyepieces and a couple of mods on the scope. Light polution here isnt too bad, even better now the council are putting in new street lights that actually shine down.

I`ve been on quite a few forums over the years but mostly USA sites, its nice to find one more local and i look forward to many hours on here in the future.

But, upgraditis has started to rear its ugly head again and I will be looking for something else in the near future. The Meade is fantastic, but quite bulky to carry out through 3 rooms and up the garden, so something more maneagable is the order of the day.

Any suggestions will be very welcome, seems I have been doing more stargazing than shop watching so dont really know whats available out there.

So, thats me, getting on a bit, thinning hair and now needing glasses even to write this!

Allan