Hello people

cmsladden

My name is Craig. I am a complete beginner to astronomy but am keen to learn and give it a go.

I am about to buy my first scope and am looking at a Skywatcher Explorer 200p EQ5 Pro GOTO. I really want to attemp astrophotography as well as just star gazing.

So hello all, any advise and help very welcome. :smiley:

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Craig and may I say, this will be a serious piece of kit for a 'starter'. Good choice! It will be a great instrument for visual and astrophotography. When you get it, ask any questions you need to here. You will always find the answer you require :)

hi there Craig

Nice set up for a visual scope but not i fear for astrophorography. Some do use this but the EQ5 will be up to its weight limit with the scope and ancillaries.

If you then start putting cameras on etc you will run into issues.

For AP you will need minimum of HEQ5 and preferably to be future proof the NEQ6. I learned this from experience as I bought the exact same set up and then had

to upgrade to NEQ6, trying to save you money in the long run :grin: you will need all you can get for AP :grin:

Regards

Velvet