NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Using a Skyliner 200P Dob whilst wearing glasses? Advice needed...

I'm on the verge of ordering my first scope from FLO (Skyliner 200P Dob) after weeks of reading reviews, surfing these forums and e-mailing Martin at FLO with endless questions. I was on the verge of hitting the 'buy' button when I realised an important detail: I'm very short sighted and wear glasses all the time (I also use contact lenses for work but just putting a pair in for observing isn't economical). As a complete beginner I've been using Celestron bins for observing (cloud permitting) and these have fold down rubber eyepieces specifically for glasses wearers.

So, are any people out there using the above scope with specs and if so, how are you getting on?

Thanks.

Hi

You need to watch eye relief on eyepieces to ensure they have enough to be able to use them with specs on. That is of coarse if you intend to wear the specs whilst observing. Some people remove specs whilst others choose to keep them on I guess that's a personal thing that you'll work out yourself which your happiest doing.

Because the scope has its own focuser you should have no problems observing without specs on.

To observe comfortably whilst wearing specs you may need about 15mm - 20mm of eye relief minimum, although not being a spec wearer I might be a little out with this figure.

I prefer to take my glasses off and either tread on them or sit on them.

My optician tells me to keep them on as they are thinned to help astigmatism. However they're a nuiscance. I tried those dangley ropes, but they swung the glasses onto the scope.

I usually just raise them up into the hair, this failed when I had a hedgecut. Mainly, I take them off and put them on the EP tray. Then pop them on to look through the finder scope or Telrad.

It's a devil when you can't find them in the dark though.

Nick.