Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello, everyone.

StevenG.

Hello. My name is Steven, and I currently reside in Manahawkin, New Jersey. I have been interested in backyard astronomy since I was probably either eight or nine years old. In addition to that, I have been observing the night sky for several years now.

Since I have been swamped with school work and what not recently, I haven't been outside in several weeks. Hopefully, I will find spare time to relax and enjoy the night sky once again.

Aside from my interest in backyard astronomy in general, I frequently work on traffic signals and traffic signal devices, such as electro-mechanical signal controllers. Just another interest I have as well.

I hope to meet many other enthusiasts on here in the future. As of now, I look foward to participating on here.

Steven G.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What have you been observing with? How bad is your light pollution?

Hello, Mr. Q. It is nice to meet you. My first telescope was a basic refractor telescope (I cannot remember the name of it). It was given to me as a Christmas present when I was most likely eight years old. As I grew older, I eventually purchased my second telescope, which was a slightly advanced refractor telescope that was manufactured by Meade. It wasn't until 2007 that I purchased my third telescope, in which I still use as of present day. It is a Schmidt-Cassegrain telescope. It was manufactured by Meade, and it's the company's model LX-90. Works like a champ, and I have seen many celestial objects in it quite well.

Now, in regards to light pollution, I had originally grew up in the suburbs of the city of New York. So, of course, light pollution was an inevitable problem for me as an amateur astronomer. Although that issue didn't prevent me from observing the night sky there, for that I lived in a fairly dark area that was suitable for stargazing.