Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from essex

Lyrated

Hello All

I am a complete noob and novice when it comes to the sky :)

Abit about me: I am a typical 28 year old guy loves my little boy and the gym and too play poker. I have never done anything like this before so i thought time to try new things.

I watched the star gazing live last year on the BBC and i found it amazing. I did nothing about it until the show come back on a few nights ago.

So I looked around at some kit to buy but i have no clue, so thought i would find some people who can hopefully help out :)

Anyway enough of my rambling peace out

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

HI Lyrated and welcome to the forum. Lots of knowledge here to assist you in making sense of all the kit out there, some brilliant, most of it really good and the occasion spanner. Part of the answer will depend on the kind of budget you have and what you want to look at (...if you're like me you will say EVERTHING!:)) The Stargazing Live events are also continuing in various locations including the weekend, so it might be worth checking out your local astro club or observing group to see what they have planned. It's the best way of getting to look through lots of different kit and what they will reveal for you (...a bit tricky in the shop) and more importantly, for you to be able to decide what size and type of scope will best suit your own expectations.

In the meantime you might want to play about with this free piece of planetary software called Stellarium and can be viewed here. This will show you how to locate and identify objects in the night sky and will certainly keep you entertained during those cloudy nights. A great way to learn the sky but of course not quite the same as being out there!

Clear skies

James

Hey Guys thanks for the replies and I am chuffed at the great advise already,