Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello and I hope I did the right thing!

AndrewDT

On Thursday night I went to let the dogs out before bed and noticed a very bright object in the sky so I took out my iPad launched star walk and discovered it was Jupiter. Then I got out my camera, attached my 400mm lens and spent the next two hours trying to photograph it!

I managed to get a small red dot with four smaller dots around it and decided what I really needed was a telescope so I found Stargazers lounge by accident and read as much as I could take in.

I looked at Starwatchers, there was a cheap 200P on eBay but it was in Dundee and It seemed a bit too advanced for a complete beginner. I also felt that something with a built in computer guide was probably a good way for me to learn.

One of the things I found out on the forum was that Green Witch were opening a store in Birstall, Leeds today so I put list of possible scopes that got good reviews here in my pocket and off I went and I met Lee and Sue and spent an hour or so being further educated about Newtonions and Maks by the very helpful and patient Lee.

I ended up buying a Nexstar 127 SLT with a power tank and dew remover and I'm now sitting in the garden waiting for it to go dark!!!

Very excited and hoping to see Jupiter in a bit more detail than my Nikon allowed.

Once I get the hang of it I would like to connect a webcam as all the advice on the forum says that's what I need rather than a DLSR but to start with I'm looking forward to spending the night under the stars and I hope I made the right choice of scope.

the only downside is that I have to go out for curry tonight but hopefully it will keep me warm when I'm sat in the garden all night!

I'm not sure what I should buy in terms of eyepieces, Barlows PR filters, not 100% sure what they do or why I need them but I'll keep reading and any advice appreciated.

I'll let you know how I get on.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply