Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Imagery or Observation?

the milster

What do you prefer?

As a complete novice my first thoughts after getting my scope was, like many I assume, those deep sky images look great, I want to do some of that. I started looking around seeing what I might need to do a bit of photography, what scope, what camera etc. I'd already half decided in my head what I'd go for next.

How things change after a couple of sessions under the stars! My whole outlook has changed, the buzz I've had after seeing some of these objects in the flesh has madee think differently. Now my thinking for a next scope is purely for observational purposes.

I think the images help in the fact thatyou can go in and view pictures of what you've just been looking at. I think it gives it the extra wow factor.

Hi Milster, I have always been fascinated by the sky. Looking at some of the deep sky images on here made me want to do imaging.

But after looking at the kit needed (£££), lots of thinking and being realistic I decided that observing is the way to go. I'm about to order a scope, and I'm really looking forward to seeing whats 'up there'.

I would love to try some imaging to share the whole view with family and friends but for now i'm being selfish and unless they want to come and stand in my garden with me and freeze then they aren't seeing anything :evil1::D

Hi Milster, I have always been fascinated by the sky. Looking at some of the deep sky images on here made me want to do imaging.

But after looking at the kit needed (£££), lots of thinking and being realistic I decided that observing is the way to go. I'm about to order a scope, and I'm really looking forward to seeing whats 'up there'.

A cheap way to try imaging is using a webcam like a philips spc900 for imaging the moon or planets. This way you could try imaging to see if you liked it without having to break the bank.:D