NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from Leicestershire

Lezah

Hi everyone,

just a quick post to say hello, i'am a total newbie, just enjoying finding my way around the sky at the minute. Brought a scope last year but think i may have jumped the gun and brought it too early,as im not sure where i should be pointing it at:rolleyes: so i've gone back to basics learning to find my way around the sky. l look forward to chatting with you all :icon_eek:

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Lezah

Welcome to the forum.

What are you using to find your way around. Most here use the free planetarium software Stellarium which is absolutely excellent as it gives you a real time picture of the night sky for your chosen location.

A book recommended again by most people here is Turn Left at Orion.

What scope do you have?

Cheers

Dave...

Hi Lezah and welcome to the forum.

I don't thing you've jumped the gun as you now have the perfect excuse to go and find stuff and when you do, you will be in a position to enjoy! Google 'STELLARIUM' a FREE planetary program that will enhance your celestial knowledge and inform you what is up there at any given time, in any direction. I would recommend a good star map, a red torch to look at it outside so as not to effect your dark adapted eyesight (important for observing to maintain this).

There is a book, "Turn Left at Orion" which is for beginners who have modest scopes and which lists seasonal objects to find and instructs you where to look. Very useful book BUT if you can, wait till spring when the new edition is out as it will contained revised tables (eclipse dates, full moons etc) that will extend to a further 10 years use. The current edition's tables are only valid up to and including this year only and as its not the cheapest off books, would like you to at least get the maximum value should you want to resell it as you become more experienced. :icon_eek::D

Clear skies in the meantime

James