NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello from a complete novice!

Midn12e

:hello2:Hello everyone:hello2:

I have always been interested in Astronomy but never owned a telescope, or had to know how on what I was supposed to be looking at. But we all have to start somewhere.

At the ripe old age of 32 I have just bought a budget telescope to see if in fact this is something I will enjoy enough to invest more into.

I bought a Celestron AstroMaster 114EQ Newtonian Reflector telescope and in the last week or so have enjoyed looking at the moon in vastly more detail than I have ever seen before.

Next thing I would like to conquer is getting a glimpse at a planet. However, to be honest i didnt really look into the type of telescope I needed that much as I was governed by cost rather than functionality.

I would be interested to know if it is even possible to view a planet succesfully with the type of scope that I have?

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind Regards,

Steve.

You certainly should be able to catch saturn with it. Get "Stellarium" which is a free planitarium software download - you'll love it. It'll show you where everything is at any time of day/night for your location once set up correctly. It can even be used to control telescope motors.

Let us know how you get on - welcome to the group :D

Saturns visible tonight after 9:30 towards the south west.

Hi Steve,

A very warm welcome to the forum. :)

Currently Jupiter rises in the early hours of the morning and makes a stunning view with his moons.

If you get up early, its visible in the pre-dawn sky about 15º above the Eastern horizon around 5 o'clock.

By six it's still visible in the lightening sky and, at about 25º, will have risen clear of the haze and murk around the horizon.

Happy hunting. :D