NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First night star-gazing.

SweetLeaf

Hello everybody,

Just thought I would introduce myself here, seeing as I signed up today and spent my first real night star-gazing tonight. :D

I'm from just outside of Toronto and I recently got my first telescope, the Celestron NexStar 114SLT, and have been loving it so far.

With the included 9mm and 25mm eyepieces I haven't been able to see many cool things besides the moon, but the second that I looked through that eyepiece at the moon, I knew that this is going to be a hobby I'm going to have for a long time. :D

I don't have any thing special to take images with but I did manage to snap this pic of the moon with my cellphone, lol. Real **** quality, but as this is my first time, I'm loving it. :)

5zjedx.jpg

I do plan on buying the NexImage soon so I can capture better images.

Also, I am obviously interested in viewing deeper sky objects other than the moon, lol, so I was just wondering if anybody could recommend any other things that I might be able to see with the included eyepieces, or maybe some eyepieces that I should invest in?

I was thinking about picking up this set soon...

Eyepiece and Filter Kit 1.25 in (item #94303) / Spring Clearance Sale / Products / Celestron.com

Would this be a good investment to better my viewing experiences?

Hi SweetLeaf and welcome to SGL.

Your pictures pretty good for a phone, I've tried doing it with my iPhone and they don't turn out that good.

It is good to have a good selection of different focal length eye pieces and the filters do come in useful. I'm eventually going to get a similar set myself.

Good luck with the star gazing and I hope you have clear skies.

Marc

Hi sweetleaf and welcome to SGL, Not bad photos for a cellphone!

The set does look good but don't rush into buying EP's when you have said you have not even seen that much with the supplied EP's.