SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hertfordshire Stargazing Newbie

Camkorn

Hello Follks!

I have always been interested in astronomy - mainly just from watching documentaries on the Discovery Channel. Last week I bought a book about the Universe (by Peter Cattermole and Stuart Clark) which I have been unable to put down since! I found this forum while looking for information on binoculars - think I would rather start with a decent pair of binoculars before investing money in a telescope! I am a total newbie and can see there is a lot to learn but I'm looking forward to seeing a planet already :-)

Clare.

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL, Clare. :)

Our binocular forum is in the Observing zone, but there's much more than observation reports posted. SGL is graced with some very knowledgeable members who have written product reviews, and are very helpful regarding the purchase, use, and care of binos. If you haven't already done so, please pop in and have a look around. I'm sure you'll get some very sound advice on your purchase if you need help.

Hi Clare,

Binos did me for nigh on 25 years- a pair of 10x50s and the moon, that's where it began...

If anything I would probably counsel against buying a telescope until you know the sky quite well. It can be quite exacting at first, it's quite easy to become discouraged- though for every one person who says this you'll find another who takes the opposite view.

Hi Clare,

A warm welcome to SGL, a wise decision to start with binos, the addition of a good solid tripod as an extra to the camping chair, as well as a red torch and star charts could also be on your list of future acquisitions. What ever you do have fun and enjoy the forum.

John.