Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Do you use an erecting prism diagonal?

For lunar observation do you find an erecting diagonal preferable?

I'm fairly new to astronomy and lunar observation appeals a lot. Just wondering how more experienced observers do it.

Thanks, Patrick 

49 minutes ago, PatrickO said:

For lunar observation do you find an erecting diagonal preferable?

I'm fairly new to astronomy and lunar observation appeals a lot. Just wondering how more experienced observers do it.

Thanks, Patrick 

I think a few do, who are sensitive to orientation but I think most prefer the higher quality of a mirror or standard prism (ie not correct orientation). The corrected prisms generally do show artefacts on bright stars and some degradation at higher powers, so personally I don’t use them. There are lunar maps which show left/right reversed views to make identification easier, or software apps that do the same so it is a manageable issue from that perspective.

• Like 3

I don't  tend to use one on the moon. I have kept the one that came with the ST80 for terrestrial viewing. I think being someone who started my observing journey with a Newtonian I am used to an upside down Moon 😁.

Stu is right a good quality diagonal will give a better view and books or software can give you the information you need.

Cheers

Ian

• Like 2

I'm in the same camp as @Stu on this one. High quality standard prism or mirror diagonal for me and I accept the L&R reversed views. 

Stellarium and Cartes du Ciel have fairly easy to use facilities to flip the image E&W / N&S / both and I'm sure other such tools have a similar function somewhere.

Edited by John
  • Like 1

Rather than correct the image for lunar, I purchased the  Duplex Moon Atlas which has both refractor and reflector displays. Makes identifying features a doddle. 

• Like 2