Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Not Sure What Bins To Get Can Anyone Help?

Tommyg27

I have about 100 to 150 quid to spend on a set of bins for astronomy, I am a complete beginner in astronomy and would like to learn the night sky first with a set of bins which a relatively cheap before moving to a telescope in the future. I don't know what set to get as I wouldn't want anything heavy to tire my arms, I'm thinking of a 7x 50, 10 x 50 or an 8 x 42.

I was thinking the Nikon aculon range for my price but am not sure really. I would just like best value for my buck, I understand the bins will not be very powerful at this price range, but seeing a few bright objects and possibly a galaxy or two would be nice.

Any one got any suggestions. Thank You.

Hi and welcome to SGL

I know nothing about binos, so don't take me seriously, but I consider these:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/opticron-binoculars/opticron-oregon-10x50-wa-binocular.html

I suspect that they are excellent value for the money to get you stared in astronomy.

If you want better binoculars that you'll be using for other things as well - like birding, or nature observation when hiking, ... - then consider more expensive models that are durable, argon filled and so on - but for star gazing, I think above will be more then fine.

15 hours ago, ScouseSpaceCadet said:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/opticron-binoculars/opticron-adventurer-10x50-t-wp-binocular.html

Highly recommended. Sit back on a reclining garden chair to keep them steady or go with Mr Vader's popular trigger grip (mine is under the Christmas tree woohoo 😁).

Yep, would be hard to beat these, and as recommended by our own SGL bino expert, Steve Tonkin..

"We are confident this is the best binocular for astronomy available <£100. 

Currently in stock