Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First stab at the Milky Way

StuartT

I found a dark sky site about 30mins drive away so tonight I thought I'd try to image the Milky Way. Never attempted it before.

Using an 11mm lens with an APS-C DSLR I'd previously worked out (by experiment) that the longest exposure I could manage without trails was 10sec (I am using just a camera tripod, no tracking). So I shot at ISO6400 for 10sec wide open at f/2.8

Not hugely impressed with the results. What am I doing wrong?

IMG_0040 - Copy.jpg

Edited by StuartT
  • Like 10

Not a bad first attempt at all, Stuart!

You're not doing anything wrong, but it's probably worth taking a few frames, say 5 - 7 with the same settings, in quick succession. Then you can stack them in the free Sequator software to reduce noise, before increasing the contrast in the resulting TIFF file. That should enable you to bring out the Milky Way more.

Regards, Mike.

• Thanks 1

I am not an expert by any means,  but when i was taking a few shots of the milky way with my DSLR camera i set the ISO to 800,  i think 6400 is a bit much,  but try 800 and see how it goes.

Moonless night will also be a added bonus.

Edited by bluesilver
  • Thanks 1

1 hour ago, bluesilver said:

I am not an expert by any means,  but when i was taking a few shots of the milky way with my DSLR camera i set the ISO to 800,  i think 6400 is a bit much,  but try 800 and see how it goes.

Moonless night will also be a added bonus.

it's a moonless night. And I drove out to a Bortle 3 sky location. Then I followed this (which suggested ISO 3200 or ISO 6400

https://capturetheatlas.com/how-to-photograph-the-milky-way/#:~:text=To summarize%2C these are the,your white balance to 4000k

4 hours ago, StuartT said:

Not hugely impressed with the results. What am I doing wrong?

Have you done any post-processing in an image editing software package? That's where you really get to make the milky way pop.