Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

OSC NB Filter

Grifflin

Hi All

So I'm on a journey with AP and, for the moment, have chosen to go down the OSC route (for now 😃).  I currently have a ZWO 294MC and have really enjoyed the images I get from it.  I think that the next step for me is to invest in a NB multi band filter.  I already have a L Pro and a UV/IR cut so a NB multi band feels like a logical step.  This is my thinking....and please feel free to put me right, I am fairly new to this:

- Galaxies / reflection nebula:  UV/IR cut or L-Pro depending where in the sky they are (Bortle 4/5 but with noticeable light "domes" in some areas)

- Emission nebula: UV/IR cut if high otherwise NB filter....or would a NB filter be better for both....or neither?

- How effective is a NB multi band against moonlight?

I have two questions:  a) am I diving down the wrong route here (mono is in the future but OSC for now 😔) and  b) if money was not a particular object then which NB multi band filter would you go for?

Really grateful for your thoughts and experiences and please feel free to put me right if I'm off track.  Like I said...its a journey.

Neil

I also have the ASI294MC Pro and use it with the 1.25" Optolong L-eXtreme filter screwed into the filter holder in the 11mm spacer on the front of the camera.

I use this for emission nebula and bought it mainly for when the Moon is bright. I'm lucky in that I live in a Bortle 2 area but as such the Moon does create a more noticeable issue when full. Even with the L-eXtreme filter installed I still don't image close to the Moon but it does allow me to image during the full Moon period.

I think a good illustration of what the duel NB filter does is in these two images of the Horse Head & Flame which I took back in March.

The top one is with just a UV/IR cut filter. Notice the amount of nebulosity visible from NGC2023 in the centre of the image and the lack  of Ha data in the red background to the Horse Head.