Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

In praise of the AZ4

Carl Au

I have used a number of AZ mounts over the years for my refractors and when I owned such things Newtonian refectors too, both on and off Dobsonian mountings. The one mount I have returned to 3 times now (and I am not selling this one) is the humble SW AZ4. I have been using this mount on and off for the past 10 years now so I think I am probaly qualified to review it now. Currently as you can see I have a shortish tube refractor on board and since I have the steel legged version I have a very solid mount for my scope indeed, rock solid as it happens. I also think, and prehaps I am alone here, they look rather cool? I know we have all had a nasty shock with the recent price hikes which have arrived with anything with the name Skywatcher attached to it (I can't help but hear the Genesis track Watcher of the Skies in my head everytime I read the word Skywatcher) have increased the price to £209, but this still is an excellent valus for money mount. Essentally its a teflon ringed Dobsonian mount on a tripod. Currently I use my without the panning handle, but I am thinking of attaching it again as I have a terrible habit of moving the scope around by the sky using the diagonal, I must stop doing that. I don't know what it is with SW and grease like Evostick, but the AZ4 comes with the same gunk, however once stripped and replaced with white grease the mount is buttery smooth. I don't like slo mo controls, I took them off the last mount that had them, I just found they just got in the way. I have used a number of scopes on the AZ 4. I found that ED 100 to also be an excellent fit and also ran a TAL 100RS and a Towa 335 on one for a while too. As much as I loved my TAL, it was just a little too heavy. The long arm action of using such a long heavy scopw were a little too much. The Towa 335, a wonderfully sharp CA free 3 inch fl15 refractor was suprising stable, if a little challenging to use on