NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hello!

Suzi

Hello! Yet another newbie here. :) My name is Suzi and I'll soon be living in Somerset, UK. I bought my partner a Skywatcher Explorer 130PM for Christmas. However, neither of us know what we are doing and would like to ask those in the know a few questions. I'm hoping I made a good choice in buying the above telescope. It appears to have good reviews and recommendations. We just need to learn how to use it now!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am that partner in question :)

Name is Matt and I'm 24 and now just waiting for some nice days to go outside and take a peek. I'm looking forward to seeing the moon when it gets a bit bigger. Read someone else's welcome post who has the same kit as me and said he could see Saturns rings really clearly so that's definitely something I will be looking for shortly too.

Some of the things that I'd like to know firstly is how people carry it around and store it when not using it etc. I was thinking of getting a toolbox to put some of the bits in for example, do other people do this?

Something for the future that I'd be interested in is being able to take some pictures using my digital camera, an Eos 350D.

Looks like this site is a good community and I hope to make some nice friends here :p

hello and welcome to SGL. Nice scope - skywatcher is kind ofthe "industry standard" first scope, as is the book, "Turn Left at Orion".

Ikeep my bits 'n pieces in a sort of big metal flowerpot thingy :oops: but a toolbox would probably be better. You can buy foam too and cut out the sections for eyepieces etc.

enjoy - this is a great hobby :)

Hi Suzi and Matt, and a warm welcome to SGL.

I'm sure you'll find other members on here, using the 130PM, and who will be happy to share their experiences with you.

As suggested 'Turn left at orion', is an excellent book to get you started.