SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

first light, slightly dissappointed

Keithp

Hello all, 23:14 day before my 50th.... 27/12/2008.

got the 250px out on the back garden, orions up but using the standard eyepieces that came with it I don't see any spectacluar sights, waiting for saturn to come up.. will I see anything better. Maybe I need a 2Xbarlow to see the sort of stuff I was hoping for.Do I need a new set of eyepieces to bring the best out of this tube. Don't get me wrong..I am a total newbie at this and the stars in focus are spectacular, even caught Venus before it went down, half planet.

Any one got some targets to go for, moons out at the moment

Regards

All

KP

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello Keith,

I'm a bit surprised to here you got no good sights with a 10"f4.8 reflector.

I don't know which eyepieces you were using, but using your lowest power should have given you a good view of the Orion Nebula. As long as your eyepiece had not misted over in the cold air, as put your warm face near it, and you had allowed time for your eyes to adapt to darkness, you should be pretty happy.

I've no doubt you will have much better success next time you are out there.

The scope will do the business, as long as other conditions are favourable.

Ron. :thumbright:

Hi Ron, thanks for the reply.

I'm seeing nice sharp views of stars but with the 10 and 25 eyepieces with the scope I was hoping to see a bit more detail, maybe a bit of running before I walk,,,.

Too late fore tonight, I'm 50 23 minuites ago. Scope is safe in the conservatory.

:-)

Happy Birthday Keith,

Sorry to hear you were disappointed. Were you looking for anything specifically? If you looked at Orion, did you see the Orion Nebula?

The interesting things (other than the moon and planets) are mostly quite dim and hence not necessarily good to look at with more magnification, so you would do better to stick with the 25mm eyepiece without the barlow.