Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Chroma 3nm or stick with baader

Ken82

I ordered a full set of baader narrowband filters some time ago which have been good. I do get halos with the oiii but reading around this appears normal. Just waiting for my SII to arrive as these are delayed for a while. I had initially wanted the narrower 4.5nm oiii but I’ve been told there is a long waiting time for these (possibly production issue)

In the mean time whilst I wait chroma have become available on the FLO website. I could potentially cancel the SII and look at getting the narrower 3nm or 5nm filters but is it worth it ? 

Has anyone experience with chroma filters ? Is it worth the narrower bandpass ? Would the oiii get rid of the halos ? I’m imaging from a fairly light polluted area bortle 6??? With refractor at f5 

thanks 

I have no experience of Chroma filters but I can tell you that Astrodon 3nm filters are much better than their 5nm NB filters at reducing star size and killing moonlight.  I know because I have both and never regret forking out for the 3nm filters.  They make all the difference to narrow band imaging.

Edited by Gina

7 minutes ago, Gina said:

I have no experience of Chroma filters but I can tell you that Astrodon 3nm filters are much better than their 5nm NB filters at reducing star size and killing moonlight.  I know because I have both and never regret forking out for the 3nm filters.  They make all the difference to narrow band imaging.

Yep, agreed about the Astrodon 3nm.  Moonlight hardly bothers them at all.  Be prepared to shell out some serious coin for Astrodon and Chroma.

• Like 1

57 minutes ago, Ken82 said:

I do get halos with the oiii but reading around this appears normal

Hi Ken,