SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

BST Starguider 8 & 12mm 1.25" brief review.

MKHACHFE

Before reading this, I should say that I'm pretty new to this hobby and have no experience with any  eyepieces other than those I mention below.

My lovely wife gave me a 8mm and 12mm BST Starguiders for Xmas and although I have only had a chance to use them for a few hours since I got them, my impression so far is very positive. 

Pre BST, my only EPs were the 25mm Plossi that came with my XT8, a £10 10mm from Amazon and a baader classic ortho 10mm.

To  be honest, I did not get on with the BCO at all. Yes it was sharp enough, but I never liked the narrow FOV and always felt that it didn't barlow well.

Just peering through the 12mm BST for the first time was a great experience. I know it's only a 60deg view but it felt so much more, is luxurious the right word? Much more immersive than the BCO and Plossi are. 

It's possible that the outside edge stars suffered a bit of blur, but I can't be sure. The skies were not that great. And dew was an issue as well. 

I can say though that M42 looked absolutely wonderful through them, and when paired with my Astronomik UHC filter, the view was better than I had ever experienced so far. 

I then pointed the scope almost straight up and after initially struggling to spot them, had a lovely view of Cassiopeia's double open cluster, the detail increasing rapidly the longer I looked. 

The only time I really used the 8mm more than the 12mm was when I looked at Uranus before heading indoors for the night. I used the 2x barlow as well and even though the view was shaking a fair amount as the wind had picked up a lot by then, I could tell that the planets disc was pretty darn sharp, even through the less than 100% clear skies.

All in all, I'm super happy with them so far. For me they are a big step up from what I had and frankly, for the price they go for, I'm amazed at the quality.