Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Great first experience

MaHa

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to this only today, so apologies if my post is in the wrong place or something! 

I just wanted to share my first successful experience in astronomy this evening. Having owned a small telescope for a couple of years now (skywatcher Heritage 130p) and not really having much success at finding my targets - I decided to buy a pair of binoculars. I opted for the Olympus dps 1 10x50's.

I've absolutely had more enjoyment tonight in 20 minutes, than in the past two years combined! I observed the Pleiades, the reflection nebula M78, Uranus and the ghostly smear of light that was the Andromeda galaxy from my back garden. All this was made much simpler using a great app I downloaded! 

I'm certain it's kickstarted a new passion for me, and I'm loving the ease of use and simplicity of using binoculars and two eyes for observations, rather than squinting and straining into an eyepiece and not being able to find anything! 

I'm looking forward to learning more from everyone and taking any advice that's on offer. 

Cheers, Mark. 

Hello Mark and a warm welcome to the SGL. Many of us started out in astronomy using binoculars. It’s a great way to learn the night sky. After a bit of time many decide that thy want a closer look at their favourite objects and that’s when they move on to use telescopes. The main thing is to enjoy yourself and from your post it is obvious you are having a ball.

6 minutes ago, Stu said:

Nice one Mark. Binoculars can be a great way to learn the sky, and even after many years successfully using a scope, they can still be the most relaxing way to observe in many ways.

Thanks Stu, I really did enjoy the relaxed element of it all with my binoculars. 

6 minutes ago, laudropb said: