Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Zoom eyepieces

jonnydreads

Hi.

I have recently purchased a nexstar se8" 

I am wondering if anyone could recommend a good zoom eyepiece. I do have a few eyepieces that I use for my skywatcher but I've never purchased a zoom eyepiece before as I was put off them once when I first bought my telescope. 

The convenience of it strikes me mostly, I'm a complete novice in comparison to others on this forum and would like some advice.

Thanks in advance jon 

• Like 1

Hi Jon and welcome to the forum.

The Baader 8-24mm zoom is a good quality zoom eyepiece. It's not exactly low cost but it does replace, say, 4 eyepieces so the cost should be viewed in that light. The optical quality rivals decent quality fixed focal length eyepieces.

Like most zooms the field of view at the longest focal length is a little restricted but it widens out nicely as the focal length is shortened. The Baader zoom plus a fixed focal length eyepiece of, say, 32mm for low power views could be all the eyepieces that an 8 inch SCT owner needs.

• Like 2

wow, I've never even heard of a binoviewer, I always wondered why that hadn't been invented yet haha.

does that limit the view at all? detail wise? 

I've never had a goto telescope and always thought that it was quite lazy to have one without knowing the sky well, almost like having an automatic car and having never used a manual one....... I've got to that point in life where I just want to see things and this is my best shot I think..... I've given up being proud ?

apparently I need a power pack too!

Edited by jonnydreads

1 hour ago, jonnydreads said:

wow, I've never even heard of a binoviewer, I always wondered why that hadn't been invented yet haha.

does that limit the view at all? detail wise?