NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Out with the bins.

Paul M

We're spending a few days up at our Luxury Cumbrian Villa while the girls are on half term. Had some nice dark skies and tonight was very good. Unfortunately Penrith to the North of my dark sky site just gets brighter. Luckily the southern sky is still quite good. 

If I'd known it was going to stay so dark I'd have set up Ye Olde Fullerscope, but if my eyesight was as good as hindsight I wouldn't need a scope :)

Binoculars it is then, 10x50's to be precise. I used SkySafari to plan a few objects and realised that Uranus and Neptune were well placed for my situation. I don't know that part of the sky very well. Can't see it too well from home. So I studied SkySafari looking for suitable star hops. Luckily both planets formed memorable asterisms. 

For Neptune I started at lambda Aquarii and hopped East to 81 and 82 Aqr. Projecting a line south from that pair took me to Neptune. Easy enough and it left me wondering why I'd never tried for Neptune with bins before. I was hoping for some evidence that I was looking at a planet but it was stellar in appearance. No hint of Colour. 

Uranus was another easy star hop. Starting at Omicron Piscium (another obscure star I've never really visited before) and a short pan east to a little line of even more obscure stars 5th to 7th magnitude. Uranus formed a tidy little obtuse triangle with a pair of them. As with Neptune, there was nothing planetary about the view. Perhaps with steadier hands and younger eyes I'd have eeked more detail. A nice little first all the same. 

The milky-way was fantastic, horizon to horizon. I panned round for some time just taking it in. The Perseus double cluster was obvious by naked eye and always worth a visit with the bins. In some respects it better suited to bins than telescopes. You get a feel for the scale and the setting.