Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I couldn't feel my fingers but

Hungrymark

Tuesday 6th February - back garden South Cumbria ~8.30 - 10pm, Skywatcher 200p, cold cold cold 

Castor - I've been doing this star thing for a couple of months now and find splitting Castor a good warm-up. Living in the northwest where clear nights aren't the commonest, and being a novice, I like the easy start to get my eye in. No probs tonight at 120x.

M35 - I really like this cluster, it's great to wander around and lose yourself. Also, last couple of times I'd forgotten to keep an eye out for NGC2158, but I remembered this time. I don't know if it should be resolvable into stars at 8" and a 32mm Plossl but it wasn't. Still, nice to say hello to the fuzzy little thing.

M1 - I'd got this last time I had a proper session about three weeks ago so went back, and I don't know if it's me getting better at seeing or the sky but i felt I could see more tonight. Maybe a hint of some structure beyond a grey smudge at 37x. 

M31 - No probs, obviously. I managed to get M110 but not M32, which I thought was strange. M32 was very obvious last time. Maybe I was looking at the wrong bit. The north/south inversion through a telescope still tricks me sometimes! 

M51 - Feeling emboldened, and noticing that UMa was higher in the sky than the last time I tried, and failed, to get it, I had a pop at the this galaxy and its companion. Delighted to get it this time. Still relatively low, so structure wasn't obvious, but both partners unmistakeable. I feel like I got some arm action with averted vision and letting my eyes go slightly out of focus but wouldn't promise.

Double cluster - very nice, definite red stars in the one that's meant to have red stars (NGC884?), which again I'd forgotten to keep an eye out for previously. 

M103 - New to me, a nice view but not knowing too much about what I'm doing I had to double check it wasnt just part of the milky way!