Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Horsehead Nebula One Year On

Hello all

The horse head was first captured by me a COMPLETE newbie last winter (not much has changed :) )I thought I would put a comparison between last year and this weeks photo. All the equipment is the same I’m using a skywatcher 150pds with Canon 550d which last year was not modified. A job I did myself last year. Last year I had no guiding so I was limited to 2 or 3 minute subs. All on a Eq6. Since then I’m always tinkering to get things a little better. Still not perfect but good fun trying to iron out the problems. So here they are. Don’t laugh at the first one Olly!

88605F5A-99F1-4343-92A8-F59C41E66D7C.thumb.jpeg.08bbe5384621f552d84ac4353025a86f.jpeg8CC693C4-1EBB-444D-B4E4-B0DB428EFD1C.thumb.jpeg.838e5180fb88a0579a82dc7d5c955d7e.jpeg

On ‎22‎/‎01‎/‎2018 at 11:11, bobro said:

Super improvement! Can you say what subs were taken for the latest image?

Hello yes of course. I used 360 sec subs with 30 flats and bias. It's about 2 hours.  Glad you like it! 

On ‎22‎/‎01‎/‎2018 at 10:42, iwols said:

superb what an improvement ,ide be happy with the first one:icon_biggrin:,how much do you put down to your processing though?

The processing has improved a lot BUT i don't use expensive software. I've tried pixinsight but I find it quite complicated so I just use Cs2 . But no matter how much processing I do I can never do the same with the first image. It's in my opinion the modification to the camera that's made the biggest difference. Longer exposures and guiding. 

Glad you like it :) 

Gerry

On 22/01/2018 at 13:18, Squeek86 said:

I'm embarking on this journey myself and if I could capture any image like you have done id be amazed!!

Both images look fantastic keep up the good work!!