Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

All I Want To See Are Planets

Hello, all!

I have owned the Orion XT12g (12" go-to Dob) for 2 years now because I enjoy looking at DSOs.  But all my wife wants to see are planets, planets, planets!  Her emphasis is on the kids' education.  She wants to "wow" them to pique their interest in science.  Her instructions to me were: "I want to see Jupiter as big as possible with the greatest amount of detail for under $1,500."

Although I have been observing for a few years now, my knowledge is limited to my one and only scope (12" go-to Dob).  From cruising these forums for the last few days, I'm guessing I need a refractor for planets?

I would prefer to get one with a 2" barrel, since I already own those eyepieces. But I also have some 1.25" eyepieces, so that's not a deal breaker.  Other considerations are the fact that she loves the way the go-to follows objects.  Having the scope stay on an object while managing kids is pretty important, but I don't guess that is a deal breaker either.  Again, emphasis is "as big and detailed as possible" (she made me recite that a few times out loud).

So I found the Celestron Advanced VX 6 refractor: https://www.telescope.com/All-Telescopes/Telescopes/Refractor-Telescopes/Refractor-Telescopes-with-Premium-Optics/Celestron-Advanced-VX-6-Refractor-Telescope/rc/2162/pc/2130/c/2139/sc/1981/p/103024.uts

But then I had a moment of clarity and decided to pop in here and get some real advice since I'm still a beginner myself.  Is a refractor really what I need?  Is that Celestron a good scope?  I think the planets look great through my 12" Dob, but that's not really an option because she can't take it out by herself (too big/heavy).  An internet friend who is an amateur also told me to get a CST instead, so now I am all confused.