Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Back to basics

Last winter I started learning how to take photographs of my favourite night sky objects, it was a really steep learning curve. I bought a Canon 1100D, a Polemaster, and downloaded various programmes. The end result after much blood, sweat and tears, was some not bad images that I am very proud of. However, it meant that during the best observing nights I was busy setting up all my gear and cables then going in doors and waiting an hour for the session to finish. I enjoyed the challenge at first but missed observing.

Last night I set up my gear, put away all the photography stuff, put in my Hyperion 24mm super wide angle lens and started observing. Oh what a joy. M31 looked stunning. The Perseus Double Cluster was a joy to behold. It was such a great pleasure looking at the multitude of stars in the Milky Way, I just love doing that, drifting along the star studded band. Okay, I will take the occasional photo now and again, but for me nothing matches the sheer joy of putting your eye to the eyepiece and seeing the real thing, not a digitised version of it.

Nothing beats actually observing  the night sky.

30 minutes ago, Moonshed said:

......................  ....  I will take the occasional photo now and again, but for me nothing matches the sheer joy of putting your eye to the eyepiece and seeing the real thing, not a digitised version of it.

Nothing beats actually observing  the night sky.

My feelings exactly. :smile:

( Of course, others mileage may vary. )

Always makes me think of the VIZ Character "Baxter Basics"! (But NO Politics please...) :p

Gathering together some of my "space junk" into a new (re-vamped) Push-To system... :)

The ST120 (for "Solar Franken scope"!) as the prime mover. So, if it ever stops raining? :o

Aside: Not bothered by aberrations... The Eyepiece is a "Moonfish" (Remember those?) ;)

PushTo.JPG.ab1e1145866ca372df3d8bb061843411.JPG