Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

INDI Raspberry Pi3 - Any experts?

Myrialejean

In recent months I've been playing around with creating a RPi3 based setup to control imaging and guiding etc. Previously I've used a laptop running PHD2 and BYE and this worked well but I thought it would be great to have a cheap RPi left outside rather than my expensive laptop.

Being a software developer myself (albeit with little Linux expertise) I obviously decided to work it all out for myself - how had could it be :icon_biggrin:.  ...Then having failed miserably I followed various tutorials with more success.  I think my first mistake was using Raspbian rather than Ubuntu (although other people seem to be managing OK with Raspbian).  Setup was fairly painless and it seemed to recognise my hardware first time.  However, things started to go wrong as soon as I tried it all out for real with everything connected.

Number one issue was getting Ekos to image using my Canon 700d.  I'm suspecting that the INDI driver is not keeping the connection alive as the camera keeps disconnecting (although Ekos doesn't seem to spot this immediately).  Once this happens I have to power the camera on an off and restart INDI (sometimes several times) to get it to reconnect.  With BYE controlling the 700d (albeit on Windows) it stays connected no problem so I'm guessing BYE keeps the camera from going into standby and disconnecting.  I also couldn't figure out the focusing - mainly because the live view it presented wasn't at a high enough exposure to see the stars and I couldn't figure out how to adjust it.