Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie from Dorset

Rosie2

Hi I am a retired nurse from Christchurch in Dorset . Always interested in Astronomy but not had much time before. Determined to prove you can teach an old dog new tricks , but what a huge subject ! I was given Bresser Venus -700 76 mm.but after reading Stargazing with a Telescope by Robin Scagell and reading the posts on this site I think the aperture 76mm and view-finder .5x24 are too small . I would like some advise . As a complete beginner am I just going to get frustrated by what I cant see with this one or with practise could it be OK to start. Thank you .Rosie

Hi Rosie

Welcome to the forum. You may be getting the first symptoms of aperture 'fever' so you may have to call upon your nursing skills once again!

You are right that 76mm is not the largest aperture, but its a good start for the Moon and things like star clusters and double stars. If you can find a local astro society down there in deepest Dorset it is worthwhile visiting them and getting to look through bigger and different kinds of scopes that they should have. That will give you an idea of what there is. Also talk to dealers like Steve at First Light Optics or Bern at Modern Astronomy. They will give good advice and won't sell you something that is not suitable for you just to make a sale.

There is no perfect telescope to see every type of object passably well and everyone has their particular favourites. Then there is usuability, cost, portability and lots of other 'ilities' to consider. All in all, a quick route to madness and confusion.

Good luck and most of all enjoy the hobby.

Geoff

Hello Rosie,

I'm in Weymouth so not far from you.

Weymouth astronomy meets once a month and is a rather friendly group.

http://www.weymouthastronomy.co.uk/