NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Telescope won't stay in place

Hello, first time poster. I'm a total newbie, so please forgive my ignorance. I have a Celestron AstroMaster 114 EQ with an equatorial mount. My problem is this: when I'm trying to observe something and manually move the tube, it won't stay in place. It actually "swings" back to the original position. I'm not talking about up and down which eliminates an issue with the counterweights; it's a left to right issue. I'll move it to the left but as soon as I let go, it abruptly swings back to the right. Again, I'm new at this so thanks for any helpful replies.

According to the online instructions:

"B. To change the direction your telescope is pointing:

1. To move the telescope in declination (north/south) there are two options. For large and quick

movements, release the declination knob (#22) and then tighten the knob when you are near the

position you want. For very small movements and fine adjustments, use the declination cable

(#18). The declination cable has a range of about 30° and if you come to the stop at the end then

overshoot your target by releasing the declination knob and move the telescope in declination.

Then tighten the knob and reverse the direction of the declination cable.

Do not try to force movement when the declination cable has reached the stop.

2. To move the telescope in right ascension (east/west) there are two options. For large and quick

movements, release the right ascension knob ( #24) and then tighten the knob when you are near

the position you want. For very small movements and fine adjustments, use the right ascension

cable (#31)."

Did you loosen and re-tighten the knob as directed?  If you want a purely push-to mount, perhaps a dobsonian would work better for you.

21 hours ago, Brianjohn442 said:

............. I'm not talking about up and down which eliminates an issue with the counterweights; it's a left to right issue.