Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Barlow Lens Information/Advice

Hi All,

I need to get a new 2x Barlow lens and looking online prices vary from a few quid to several hundred quid. While I am happy to go on a research tour of the internet, I thought I would get more mileage out of this group. :-)

My telescope is a Bresser AR-102S/600, is there anything in particular in a Barlow that I should be looking for? I am just getting into AP, but do like to just look at things every now and again.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

James

I have one of these, they seem to be considered to mark the price-point where Barlows become worthwhile:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/barlows/celestron-2x-universal-125-barlow.html

Probably cheap enough and not weep if it doesn't suit you, but I get on OK with mine.

Edit: extra benefits you can fit a camera t-mount adaptor to it, use it without the lens as a camera mount. One oddity is that if you need to fit a filter it has to go between the body and the lens, which slightly increases its power.

I prefer several older, harder to find Japanese made barlows such as the Meade 140 and the Orion Deluxe.  However, the Taiwanese made GSO 2x achromatic barlow lens available in Europe here gets good reviews for its price.  It might be available in the UK as well.  It seems to be getting hard to find.  Many places have sold out of it.

The one linked to by Stub Mandrel seems to me to be a perfectly reasonable Barlow as long as you don't need to screw a filter to the end of it and is often available on astroboot under the Skywatcher brand for £15. If you want to spend more than that then I would look at either the Antares Twist Lock Barlow for ease of use or buy a focal extender from Televue or Explore Scientific.

The best "budget" barlow that I've used is the GSO / Revelation 2.5x:

http://www.telescopehouse.com/revelation-astro-2-5x-barlow-lens.html

I reckon it's closer to 2.2x in reality though.